Tabimorelin
PMID 12699438 reports that 9 of 83 adults with growth hormone deficiency reached a peak GH of at least 5 µg/L after the first and/or final NN703 administration (checked 2026-08-26). No placebo participant reached that threshold (0 of 14). The opened PubMed record lists no grant. The corresponding Crossref record lists no funder. The PubMed record's affiliation is Sahlgrenska University Hospital. This was a one-week response study, not a long-term outcome trial.
What exactly is Tabimorelin?
Tabimorelin was studied as NN703. The human papers call it an orally active growth hormone secretagogue and examine pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics. A cell and animal paper reports action at GHS receptor 1A (PMID 10427162; checked 2026-08-26).
| Identity field | Verified value |
|---|---|
| Register name | Tabimorelin |
| Register class | Growth hormone secretagogue receptor 1A agonist; orally active ghrelin mimetic (PMID 10427162; PMID 33458843; checked 2026-08-26) |
| Register alias | NN703 |
| Other GSRS names | NN-703; NNC-26-0703 |
| GSRS substance class | Chemical |
| Molecular formula | C32H40N4O3 |
| Molecular weight | 528.6862 |
| UNII | L51CBE03KF |
| Register CAS | 193079-69-5 |
| Other CAS in the same GSRS record | 249762-09-2 |
| Identity source | GSRS Tabimorelin record, checked 2026-08-26 |
| Related register records | Ipamorelin; MK-677; Macimorelin |
What did direct human studies measure?
The human records examine short GH responses, pharmacokinetics, and one CYP3A4 interaction. No trial here tested a long-term health outcome.
| Primary record | Human sample | Measured finding | Funding and limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 12699438 | 97 adults with GH deficiency; 83 NN703 and 14 placebo | 9 of 83 (11%) reached peak GH ≥5 µg/L after the first and/or final NN703 administration. Placebo had 0 of 14 responders. The initial GH difference lost significance after adjustment for BMI. After one week, GH peak and area under the curve were similar between groups. IGF-I was unchanged. IGFBP-3 rose versus placebo after BMI adjustment (p<0.05). | PubMed lists no grant. Crossref lists no funder. The PubMed affiliation is Sahlgrenska University Hospital. One-week response study. Checked 2026-08-26. |
| PMID 11032702 | Healthy men; count not stated in this abstract | GH area under the curve was higher than placebo at the three highest tested levels. Peak GH was higher at the four highest tested levels. IGF-1 was higher at the two highest tested levels (p<0.0001). The abstract also notes subtle individual changes in ACTH, cortisol, and prolactin at higher tested levels. | PubMed lists no grant. Crossref lists no funder. The PubMed affiliation is Novo Nordisk A/S. Single-dose study; no adverse-event count or rate. Checked 2026-08-26. |
| PMID 11210396 | 8 dose groups; each had 6 active and 2 placebo participants | A pharmacokinetic model estimated 485 ng/mL for half-maximal GH stimulation. The model also included a threshold and development of tolerance. | PubMed lists no grant. Crossref lists no funder. The PubMed affiliation is Novo Nordisk A/S. Single-dose modeling study. Checked 2026-08-26. |
| PMID 11437473 | Healthy men; count not stated in the opened abstract | GH area under the curve and peak GH rose with tested level on days 1 and 7. Overall GH release decreased from day 1 to day 7 (p<0.001). IGF-I rose more than placebo at the three highest tested levels. IGFBP-3 rose more at the highest tested level. The abstract also reports isolated changes in prolactin, TSH, ACTH, and cortisol. | PubMed lists no grant. Crossref lists no funder. The PubMed affiliation is Novo Nordisk A/S. Seven-day study; no adverse-event count or rate. Checked 2026-08-26. |
| PMID 12610745 | 17 adult men | Midazolam area under the curve rose 64% after one NN703 exposure and 93% after repeated exposure; p=0.0001 for both comparisons. It remained 45% above baseline after washout (p=0.0001). | PubMed lists no grant. Crossref lists no funder. The PubMed affiliation is Novo Nordisk A/S. Drug-interaction study, not a GH treatment result. Checked 2026-08-26. |
Two abstracts say NN703 was well tolerated. They give no event count or rate.
One study found that the drug changed midazolam exposure.
How strong is the evidence?
Tier B means short human studies are available (checked 2026-08-26). The tests lasted one dose or one week. They measured GH, drug handling, or a drug interaction. None reported a long-term health result.
What do current United States product records show?
| Exact search checked August 26, 2026 | Result | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
DailyMed: Tabimorelin; NN703 | No current label | Exact terms only |
openFDA Drugs@FDA: Tabimorelin; NN703 | No matching application | Does not settle another place or time |
What do the central EU and country fields show?
| Field | Current primary record |
|---|---|
Central EU status: unclear | EMA report generated August 26, 2026: 2,732 medicine rows; no Tabimorelin, NN703, or NN-703 row. Positive controls resolved. The central file does not cover every national authorization. |
Germany: doping_classified | The DmMV annex names Tabimorelin under growth hormone secretagogues (GHS) and their mimetics. This classification is separate from evidence tier and authorization. Checked 2026-08-26. |
Sweden: unclear | Product file dated August 26, 2026: 38,382 rows; no Tabimorelin, NN703, or NN-703 row. Positive controls: semaglutide 44, tirzepatide 18, somatropin 132, teriparatide 18. This exact-name result does not classify a product under another name. |
When was Tabimorelin first observed in circulation?
The register stores first_observed: null.
No dated circulation record is claimed. The field stays empty instead of being guessed.
What does the large submitted-vial study show?
| Submitted-vial paper | Result |
|---|---|
| 2026 preprint, DOI 10.20944/preprints202604.1748.v1 | Lists fourteen compounds; Tabimorelin is absent. Checked 2026-08-26. |
| Tabimorelin result | No identity, amount, purity, or endotoxin finding. No first-observation date. |